Episode 15 – How to litter your French like a native #1

Bonjour à tous,

Welcome to the fifteenth episode of the French Blabla podcast where we will cover tips to increase your fluency while boosting your way of learning. This episode is the first part of a two parts series in which we will study how to speak a more natural French through common transformations. This episode is aimed at beginners with easy and instantly actionable tips that will improve your French in under 8 minutes. Stay tuned!

In this Episode

  • The smooshing comes back
  • Three tips to sound more natural
  • Improve your listening skills
  • A dictation challenge

Here’s a very good example of the disappearance of the “il” in the phrase “il y a”. It’s a very common phenomenon and I encourage you to do it too.  As a bonus, in the first sentence, you will notice that the “ils” in front of the verb “étaient” also got a little transformation and turned into a simple “i”.  Watch until 0’22.

“Alors ? Combien ils étaient ?”
–  Bah, y en avait plusieurs… Y en avait là… Y en avait environ là… Y en avait derrière…
–  Et… et là aussi ?
– Et là aussi oui. Et y en avait là.
– Ok. Donc “Y en avait là.””

 

Join the dictation challenge in the comment section

In the episode, I challenged you with three smooshed sentences where I applied all the tips that we learnt today. Will you be able to recognize the transformations and write what I said in the comment section?

Music by bensound.com

16 thoughts on “Episode 15 – How to litter your French like a native #1

  1. ykljj says:

    1, Il mange pas de légumes. Il aime pas ça.
    2, Il fait soleil aujourd’hui. Mais il y a des nuages.
    3, J’ai pas vu Marc et Sophie. Mais ils étaient à Paris aujourd’hui.

    • Caro says:

      Coucou !
      Super, c’est presque parfait ! Dans le 2, on enlève le second “il” : y a des nuages.
      Félicitations pour ton écoute. 🙂

  2. Richard says:

    Bonjour Caroline !

    Voici ce que j’ai entendu :

    1. Il mange pas de légumes, il aime pas ça.
    2. Il fait soleil aujourd’hui, mais y a des nuages.
    3. J’ai pas vu Marc et Sophie, mais ils étaient à Paris ce week-end.

  3. Joe says:

    Hi Caroline,

    Thanks for the episode . Here are my notes:

    Il ne mange pas de légumes. il n’aime pas ça.

    Il fait solei aujourd’hui, mais il n’y a pas de nuages.

    Je n’ai pas vu Marc et Sophie,mais ils étaient à Paris ce week-end.

    À bientôt,

    Joe

    • Caro says:

      Ah attention Joe-Yousef, est-ce que c’est vraiment ce que j’ai dit ? Toutes tes phrases sont correctes mais ce n’est pas la version de tous les jours que tu as écrite.

          • Joe says:

            Thanks for the response . I hope I get it correct.

            i ne mange pas de légumes. il n’aime pas ça.

            i fait solei aujourd’hui, mais i y a pas de nuages.

            Je ai pas vu Marc et Sophie,mais is étaient à Paris ce week-end.

            • Caro says:

              Here’s the correct answer:
              Il mange pas de légumes, il aime pas ça (the “il” written form doesn’t change).
              Il fait soleil aujourd’hui, mais y a des nuages (in the phrase “il y a” we drop it).
              J’ai pas vu Marc et Sophie mais ils étaient à Paris ce week-end.

  4. sean roche says:

    Bonjour Sophie,
    (first time listener here)
    Merci beaucoup pour cette lesson (sorry for my French. I learned French at school but haven’t used it in 20 yrs!)
    J’espere que mon francais ameliorera avant plutot. (I’m sure I’m making lots of mistakes. I am hoping to have conversational french, and also to teach my daughter).
    1. Il mange pas de legumes. Il n’aime pas ca.
    2. Il fait soleil aujord’hui, mais il y a des nuages.
    3. Je pas vu Marc et Sophie, mais ils etait a Paris ce weekend.

    • Caro says:

      Coucou Sean,
      Moi c’est Caroline, pas Sophie ! 🙂 Merci beaucoup pour ton mail aussi et d’écouter le podcast, j’espère que tu aimes.
      Attention à ta phrase 3, there’s a verb missing in the part of the sentence and in the second part, you used imparfait correctly but you chose the third person singular. The 1 and 2 are good but you wrote them a bit too formal, not quite the way I said them.

  5. guitar107 says:

    Bonjour Caro !
    Merci pour le podcast. Je crois que c’est très utile.

    Voici mes réponses :

    I mange pas des légumes. Il aime pas ça.
    I fait soleil aujourd’hui mais y a des nuages.
    J’ai pas vu Marc et Sophie mais ils étaient à Paris ce weekend.

    • Caro says:

      Coucou ! Je suis très heureuse si tu aimes cet épisode. En plus, je pense que tu as utilisé mes astuces dans ton commentaire sur “bon et bien”. Tout est bon mais attention, quand on écrit, “il” ne change pas, c’est juste à l’oral que ça change mais “il” reste “il”, pas “i”.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.